We've Moved

We've Moved!

Dave Donelson Tee To Green has an exciting new home at
Westchester Magazine.

We're still about all things golf, especially those pertinent to golfers in Westchester and the NY Metro, but now we're in a much bigger space!

Please visit our new home at

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Feinstein to Receive Journalism Award from Golf Writers

Award-winning sportswriter and best-selling author John Feinstein will receive the Lincoln Werden Golf Journalism Award from the Metropolitan Golf Writers Association at the 63rd National Awards Dinner on Monday, June 23 at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown, New York.

Feinstein first gained national prominence with his 1986 best-seller, A Season on the Brink: A Year with Bob Knight.  He's gone on to pen 30 books, including nine on golf. His golf titles include A Good Walk Spoiled; Tales from Q School;  The Majors; Open: Inside the Ropes at Bethpage Black;  Moment of Glory;  Caddy for Life: The Bruce Edwards Story; and The Classic Palmer.   
"John Feinstein is one of America’s great writers of sports," says Pulitzer Prize-winning sportswriter Dave Anderson.  “John does it all, but he especially knows and loves golf.”

Feinstein is a native New Yorker who graduated from Duke University in 1977. He's written for The Washington Post for over 30 years.  He has also contributed to Sports Illustrated, ESPN, National Public Radio, and  Golf Digest.  Now residing in Potomac, Maryland, Feinstein is a regular commentator for CBS Sports Radio and Golf Channel.

Feinstein joins select company.  Past Linc Werden Golf Journalism Award recipients include Dan Jenkins, Jack Whitaker, Dave Anderson, Jim Murray, Chris Schenkel, Furman Bisher, John Derr, Jim McKay, Peter Alliss, Judy Rankin, and Jim Nantz.

The Met Golf Writers will also honor Fred Couples (Gold Tee Award), Nancy Lopez (Winnie Palmer Award), and The Blackwelders (Family of the Year).  Additional MGWA award recipients will be announced in the coming weeks.

The MGWA’s Golf Journalism Award is presented to an individual for outstanding contributions in golf journalism.  Named in honor of Lincoln Werden, the first regular  golf writer for The New York Times and first president of the MGWA.

Among many other books, Dave Donelson is the author of Weird Golf: 18 tales of fantastic, horrific, scientifically impossible, and morally reprehensible golf

No comments: